#### NHERI

## **NGSC: EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

**Date:** 6 Oct 2023 **Time:** 11:00 am CST **Location:** ZOOM

#### Meeting Start: 11:01 AM CST

Item 1: President's Welcome (Holly Davies)

- I. Introduction of new Officers and Chairs of Standing Committee's
  - **President:** Emmaleah Jones
  - Vice President: Richard Campos
  - Secretary: Jordan Nakayama
  - **Treasurer:** Natalie Coleman
  - Chair Workshop & Mentoring: run off between Benjamin Labar and Rajendra Gautam October 9-11, 2023
  - Chair Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion: Harman Singh
  - Chair Research: Rakesh Salunke
  - Chair Networking & Community: Julie Elliot
  - Chair Membership: Daniel Yahya
  - Chair Technology & Communication: nominations open, election date October 27-29

Item 2: Review of Prior Minutes (Jordan Nakayama)

- Previous meeting minutes (August 4th) passed
- Attendance for the meeting is as follows:

Executive Position	Name	Attendance Y/N
President	Holly Davies	N
Vice President	Taylor Heath	Y
Secretary	Jordan Nakayama	Y
Vice Secretary	Julie Elliott	Y
Treasurer	Elliot Nichols	Y
Vice Treasurer	Nurullah Bektas	Y
Chair Workshop & Mentoring	Jasmine Bekkaye	Y
Vice-Chair Workshop & Mentoring	Olaniyi Afolayan	Y
Chair Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion	Maggie Webb	Ν
Vice-Chair Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion	Harman Singh	Y
Chair Research	Taylor Heath	Y
Vice-Chair Research	Rakesh Salunke	Y
Chair Networking & Community	Saman Khedmatgozar	Ν
Vice-Chair Networking & Community	Ashray Saxena	Ν
Chair Membership	Faith Nnenanya	Ν
Vice-Chair Membership	Sasan Dolati	N
Chair Technology & Communication	Niko Grisel Todorov	N
Vic-Chair Technology & Communication	Mostafa Ebrahimi	N
User Forum Rep	Esteban Villalobos Vega	N

### NSF NHERI

 Additional member attendance: Carlos Acosta Buelvas, Richard Campos, Benjamin Labar, Morufu Olalekan, Malla, Emmaleah Jones, Amin Enderami, Urinrin Otite, Rajendra Gautam, Chenqiang Liu, Natalie Coleman, Andres Rodrigues Burneo, Mustafa Cetinkaya, Daniel Yahya, Alejandro Martin Linares, Raimi Morufu Olalekan, Vishal Mishra, Mahmoud Abdallah, Ben, Haleh Mehdipour, Saeid Ghasemi, Anika Sarkar

Item 3: Treasurer's Report (Elliott Nichols)

- Proposal Committee Update:
  - Main objective is to find new proposal solicitations. The previous solicitation is not applicable for the vision of the funding project.
    - Create opportunities for graduate students to intern at NHERI site facilities.

#### Item 4: NHERI Updates (Robin Nelson)

- NHERI GSC asked to develop a session for the Natural Hazards Summit again. Does not have to be exclusively EC members working on developing the session.
  - Must submit proposal by October 14.
  - If you are interested in participating, email Robin and Emmaleah.
  - Last year was on Academic Publishing.

Item 6: Working Group Updates (Any or all groups)

DEI:

- DEI workshop October 27<sup>th</sup>, the same workshop hosted this past summer for REU students.
- Training to be a facilitator will be October 20<sup>th</sup> after the General Body meeting

Membership:

• Created a flyer to share with other students at your university that have an interest in natural hazards research. Housed in the Dropbox, share with all your grad student friends!

Research:

• Working to figure out committees and subcommittees for research groups before the general body meeting.

#### Item 7: AOB (Jordan Nakayama)

- I. AOB
  - Run-off Election: Chair of Workshop and Mentoring
    - Need to have someone in the position sooner rather than later so that the agenda of the new Chair can be established.
    - Current Chair cannot stay on to wait for the new election, so we need an interim chair.

#### 🦩 🛛 NHERI

- Vote to have an immediate run-off election now
  - 15 for, 4 against. Accepted.
- Robin will send out the new election for the Chair of Workshop and mentoring by Monday, closing Wednesday.
- Upcoming election for outgoing vice chair positions:
  - Vice Secretary, Vice Chair DEI, Vice Chair of Research, Chair of Technology and Communication, and Vice Chair of Workshop & Mentoring
  - Timeline for this election will come from Emmaleah, Richard, and Robin. But nominations can be submitted here: <u>https://bit.ly/2023NHERIGSC\_FallCandidates</u>
- New President: Emmaleah Jones, <u>Ekjones017@gmail.com</u>, email her with ideas, agendas, and natural hazards research discussions!
- II. Confirming Next Meeting & Speaker: first week where our research subcommittees will be able to meet in breakout rooms. This will allow members to provide preferences for speakers, workshop ideas, etc.

Meeting Close 11:41 AM CST

Thank you to our outgoing Executive Committee members! Without you, this organization would not be what it is today!! We can't wait to see what you accomplish next...

# **Notes and Action Items**