

Good afternoon NHERI GSC!

Thank you to all who attended our NHERI GSC General Meeting on November 17th, 2023. During our meeting we heard from Dr. Tim Cockerill, User Services Directorate for the Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC) and were able to introduce the new NHERI GSC Leadership and the first Research Subcommittee Representatives!

Below you will find the minutes from today's session.

Announcements:

- Welcome to all new NHERI GSC members!
- o Leadership Opportunities still available: https://bit.ly/2023NHERIGSC_FallCandidates
 - Nominations accepted until November 24, 2023, at 11:59 PM CST for the following positions:
 - Vice Secretary
 - Vice Treasurer
 - Vice Chair of Technology and Communication
 - You must be a member in good standing who has attended at least two meetings.

New NHERI GSC Leadership:

- Avipriyo Chakraborty, Chair of Technology and Communication
- Nurullah Bektas, Vice Chair of Research
- Samira Tafazzol, Vice Chair of DEI
- Jenny Russell, Vice Chair of Membership
- Benjamin Labar, Vice Chair of Workshops and Mentoring
- New NHERI GSC Research Subcommittee Representatives (RSR): these representatives
 are available to all members to communicate your research interests, speakers you
 would like to invite for general body meetings, etc. Contact information is provided in
 the table at the bottom of this email.
 - Amina Meselhe, Coastal Engineering
 - Sasan Dolati, Earthquake Engineering
 - Carlos Acosta, Geotechnical Engineering
 - Saanchi Singh Kaushal, Reconnaissance
 - Soolmaz Khoshkalam, Simulation & Computational Methods
 - Teye Yevuyibor, Social Science
 - Wesam Mohamed, Wind Engineering
- Approve Amendments: the following amendment changes will be voted on for approval through a Qualtrics survey, voting will be open from Friday November 17th – Monday November 20th.
 - #1 Vice-Chair to automatically fill the Chair position if the Chair steps down outside of the normal election cycle.





Graduate Student Council

- #2 Revise the name of the "Technology and Communication" standing committee to "Social Media and Outreach."
- #3 Revise Article VII, Section 2 to clarify that Research Subcommittee
 Representatives will be selected by the Executive Committee and not elected.

Events:

- NHERI Summer Institute, June 12-14: a free event to learn more about the Natural Hazard Engineering Research Infrastructure (NHERI) community. During the 3-day institute participants will meet with NHERI site representatives, K-12 educators, NSF CAREER Awardees, and a program director from the National Science Foundation (NSF). At least 5 NHERI GSC students will be selected to attend from the applications submitted.
 - If you are interested in attending, deadline to apply is February 25th, 2024: https://bit.ly/2024NHERI_SummerInstitute
- Today's Speaker: Dr. Tim Cockerill, User Services Directorate for the Texas Advanced
 Computing Center (TACC). Thank you, Dr. Cockerill for the interesting and engaging presentation
 on "Utilizing Cyberinfrastructure to Advance Natural Hazards Research." A recording of this
 presentation can be found on our website in the coming days (https://www.designsafe-ci.org/learning-center/nheri-graduate-student-council/explore/meetings/). If you have any
 additional questions for Dr. Cockerill you can reach out to him via Slack or
 email, cockerill@tacc.utexas.edu.

Our next meeting will be Friday December 15, 2023. This is our annual Holiday social, so come meet great like-minded graduate students and have a great time!!

Welcome to New Members!!

Juliana Pereira
Kristina Fillman
Justin Smith
Najiba Rashid
Aneika Perez Valdivieso
Diego Cascante
Jose Cap Salinas
Nicholas Coello Himadri
Sen Gupta
Bijan Sayyafzadeh
Huanru Zhu

Working Group Leadership and Contact





Working Group	Chair & Vice-Chair	Contact
Workshop & Mentoring	Rajendra Gautam	rgautam.nepal@gmail.com
	Benjamin Labar	labarbenjamin@gmail.com
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion	Harman Singh	harmansingh1412@gmail.com
	Samira Tafazzol	samira.tafazzol@utsa.edu
Research	Rakesh Salunke	rakesh.salunke@students.jsums.edu
	Nurullah Bektas	nurullahbektas@hotmail.com
etworking & Community	Julie Elliott	jhe@udel.edu
	Ashray Saxena	saxena_ashray@utexas.edu
Membership	Daniel Yahya	diy0001@auburn.edu
	Jenny Russell	jrussell@uthsc.edu
Technology & Communication	Avipriyo Chakraborty	avipriyo.chakraborty@students.jsums.edu
	Rakesh Salunke	rgautam.nepal@gmail.com

Research Subcommittee Representatives and Contact

Research Subcommittee	Representative	Contact
Coastal Engineering	Amina Meselhe	ameselhe.36@gmail.com
Earthquake Engineering	Sasan Dolati	seyedsasan.khedmatgozardolati@utsa.edu
Geotechnical Engineering	Carlos Acosta	cacostab@outlook.com
Reconnaissance	Saanchi Singh Kaushal	saanchi.kaushal@psu.edu
Simulation & Computational Methods	Soolmaz Khoshkalam	skhoshkalam@umassd.edu





Social Science	Teye Yevuyibor	jyevuy1@lsu.edu
Wind Engineering	Wesam Mohamed	wesammm2@illinois.edu

Thank you for your attention!

Jordan Nakayama | Civil and Environmental Engineering

Graduate Research Assistant
AU | Auburn University
(205) 639-9416 | jon0003@auburn.edu

Attendance was taken via zoom as follows:

Rajendra Gautam

Teye Yevuyibor

Jose Capa Salinas

Avipriyo Chakraborty

Jordan Nakayama

Anamika Malla

Tim Cockerill

Connor Pezeshk (cpezeshk)

Nurullah Bektas

Julie Elliott

Emmaleah Jones

Olaniyi Diran Afolayan

Mahmoud Abdallah

Andres Rodriguez Burneo

Farman Ali

Liu, Chenqiang

ASHRAY SAXENA

Alejandra Bravo

Kayla Erler

Richard Campos

Jenny Russell

Wesam Mohamed

Kristina Fillman (Fillman, Kristina)

Harman Singh

MIKIAS GUGSSA

Ehsan Ahmadi Afzadi





Holly Davies
Erika Rivera
Ben
Samira Tafazol
Shibu, Ganochetona Bangladesh
MUSTAFA CETINKAYA, he/him/his
Soolmaz Khoshkalam
Peter O.

