## **NGSC: EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Date: 30 Sep 2022 Time: 11:00 am CST Location: ZOOM

Meeting Start: 11:03 AM CST

**Item 1:** President's Welcome (Holly Davies)

• Welcome newest member to the executive committee Rakesh Salunke

**Item 2:** Review of Prior Minutes (Jordan Nakayama)

• Meeting minutes 9/3/22 passed

**Item 3:** Treasurer's Report (Elliott Nichols)

**Item 4:** NHERI Updates (Robin Nelson)

- If you are attending the research summit, the first day you must have your vaccine card
- Find a time to go over the slideshow, questions to ask the panel
   (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1oZjId74ET84IWCwnUvx7G7uRw-FrWB-9vKrGrEqbwL8/edit)
- Website is officially updated

**Item 6:** Working Group Updates (Any or all groups)

- Tay:
  - **A.** Creating a DesignSafe tools workshop, working with Adam to create layout and topics to present, first workshop would be Oct 14th
  - **B.** Natural Hazards Summit: moderating a panel discussion on lifting the curtain on academic publishing
- Paola:
  - **A.** Developing a workshop for scientific communication, Emmaleah is an advocate for this topic and a good resource within our executive committee

**Item 7:** AOB (Jordan Nakayama)

- Sending out emails to schools promoting the NHERI GSC
- October speaker Tim Cockerhill
- Email was sent out requesting forms for reimbursement for those on scholarship to the Natural Hazard Summit. If you are on scholarship and did not receive the email please let Holly and Robin know.

Meeting End: 11:24 AM CST

## • Attendance for the meeting is as follows:

| <b>Executive Position</b>                 | Name                              | Attendance Y/N |
|---|-----------------------------------|----------------|
| President                                 | Holly Davies                      | Y              |
| Vice President                            | Emmaleah Jones                    | N              |
| Secretary                                 | Jordan Nakayama                   | Y              |
| Vice Secretary                            | Nel Rodriguez Sepulveda           | N              |
| Treasurer                                 | Elliot Nichols                    | N              |
| Vice Treasurer                            | Edwin Rajeev                      | N              |
| Chair Workshop & Mentoring                | Jasmine Bekkaye                   | N              |
| Vice-Chair Workshop & Mentoring           | Olaniyi Afolayan                  | Y              |
| Chair Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion      | Maggie Webb                       | N              |
| Vice-Chair Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion | Harman Singh                      | N              |
| Chair Research                            | Taylor Heath                      | Y              |
| Vice-Chair Research                       | Rakesh Salunke                    | Y              |
| Chair Networking & Community              | Saman Khedmatgozar                | N              |
| Vice-Chair Networking & Community         | Paola Rivera Gonzalez             | Y              |
| Chair Membership                          | Faith Nnenanya                    | Y              |
| Vice-Chair Membership                     | Sasan Dolati                      | N              |
| Chair Technology & Communication          | Niko Grisel Todorov               | Y              |
| Vic-Chair Technology & Communication      | Edwin Rajeev                      | N              |
| Members in attendance                     | Ashray Saxena, Rajendra<br>Gautam | Y              |