The NHERI Council is composed of all Principal Investigators (PIs) of each NHERI Awardee or a designated substitute member as chosen by each PI not present at Council meetings.  The roles of the council include providing a collective and coordinated leadership for steering the NHERI program through the development of policies and annual work plans.

Council Membership

The NHERI Council membership is composed of all NHERI Awardee Principal Investigators (PIs) for the duration of the NHERI program.  In the event a PI cannot attend a Council meeting, they may designate a substitute representative to appear on their behalf.  Council Officers are selected each project year from the list of Council members.  Quorum and voting are defined as requiring a majority of members.

Officers for Year 1

  • Chair:  Dr. Dan Cox (Oregon State University)
  • Vice Chair:  Dr. Ellen Rathje (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Secretary:  Dr. Julio Ramirez (Purdue University)

Additional Members

  • Dr. James Ricles (Lehigh University)
  • Dr. Ken Stokoe (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Dr. Ross Boulanger (University of California, Davis)
  • Dr. Forrest Masters (University of Florida)
  • Dr. Arindam Chowdhury (Florida International University)
  • Dr. Joel Conte (University of California, San Diego)
  • Dr. Joseph Wartman (University of Washington)
  • Dr. Sanjay Govindjee (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Dr. Greg Deierlein (Stanford University)

Annual Council Community Report

In accordance with NSF agreements for the program, the NHERI Council — composed of representatives from all NHERI awardee facilities — produces an annual report on the state of NHERI which includes a review of the governance groups, highlights of the major program activities of the year, and a look at priorities for the upcoming program year.